Ebook vs. Hardcopy

This week I got the GREAT experience of finally getting a library card for my new area. I was so excited I went right down a bookshelf and got a book right away. Not only is it a great place to find free books to read, but for me it meant free books I could hold. I’ve loved eBooks since I was able to start reading off my phone, but after so long having only electronic versions, I was dying to read a book I could hold.

Let me make it clear I love both eBooks and hardcopy books.  I love that a eBook is easy to carry around because I already carry my phone around with me. I can just pick it up without the extra weight. It’s a wonderful help.

Yet a hardcopies have amazing advantages too. I feel like curling up in a nice arm chair with a book feels better than curling up with a cellphone or eReader. Plus for me and my sleep disorder it’s good to have a book that doesn’t have the blue light that keeps me up. (Or whatever color the bad light is).

I mostly feel the joy of a hardcopy book right now because I’ve been without it for so long. I find I can read longer with a hardcopy too. I don’t know why that is. I think there is a magic with a hardcopy, no matter if it’s a paperback or a hardcover. Having that weight in your hand, feeling those pages turn, the smell, the comfort of holding it in both hands really has it’s own magic.

But what do you think? Do eBooks have a unique magic too? I know I used to think so, but I’ve lost it. How would you describe it’s magic? How does it compare to the magic of a hardcopy? I want to hear different opinions. Please comment on this post and tell me your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

